Road / gravel
Giant Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1
E-bike specs from giant-bicycles.com (checked 2026-10-18): 30 Nm · 400 Wh battery. Price seen in that listing: A$13,499 — prices change, check with the seller. Listing note: AU brand-site pedelec (Giant AU); confirm EN 15194 label Pre-mapped from published specs, not yet checked against the bike. Source: https://www.giant-bicycles.com/au/bikes-defy-advanced-eplus-elite
- Road / gravel
- Mid-drive · 30 Nm
- 400 Wh
Specs don’t settle it — the maker doesn’t publish both rated power and assist speed. Check the label on the bike or run the legal check.
Specifications
Motor
| Motor | Giant SyncDrive Move Plus (rear hub) |
|---|---|
| Drive system | Giant SyncDrive Pro / Sport / Life / Core |
| Position | Mid-drive |
| Torque | 30 Nm |
Battery
| Capacity | 400 Wh |
|---|
Performance & road rules
| Class | Check: power not confirmed |
|---|
Frame & wheels
| Style | Road / gravel |
|---|
Manufacturer specifications Collected from Australian retailer and maker pages (linked below); not yet checked against the bike by our team. Specs change between model years and markets — confirm with the maker before you buy.
Quick answers
Is the Giant Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1 legal in Australia?
The specs we have don’t state its rated power or assist speed, so check the bike itself: a legal pedal-assist e-bike has at most 250 W rated power (shown on the motor or frame label) and stops assisting at 25 km/h. In Queensland it also needs an EN 15194 (or Legacy EPAC) compliance label to be ridden in public from 1 March 2027 — check the frame for the sticker.
What is the real-world range of the Giant Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1?
EbikeMate estimates about 25–37 km per charge from its 400 Wh battery, for an 80 kg rider on rolling terrain in a middle assist level at about 20 km/h. Hills, headwinds, cold weather and higher assist cut range.
How big is the Giant Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1 battery?
400 Wh. Use only the original or a maker-approved battery and charger.
What motor does the Giant Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1 have?
A Giant SyncDrive Move Plus (rear hub) mid-drive motor with 30 Nm of torque.
How much does the Giant Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1 cost in Australia?
Its recommended retail price is listed at $13,499.
Has the Giant Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1 been recalled?
No recall for the Giant Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1 is listed in the EbikeMate Recall Centre, which tracks Product Safety Australia and maker notices. Registered owners are emailed if one is published.
Check your own e-bike against your state’s rules → · See road-legal models →
Specification sources
Manufacturer specificationsThese specifications came from a maker or retailer page but we don’t have the link on file. Check them with the maker before relying on them.
Specs change between model years and markets. Your bike’s own labels (battery Wh and V, motor rating, compliance sticker) are what count.
Recalls
Government informationNo recalls for the Giant Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1 in the EbikeMate Recall Centre, which we build from Product Safety Australia and maker notices. Registered owners are emailed if one is published.
Australian rules
Government informationEbikeMate editorial guidanceAcross Australia a pedal-assisted e-bike (EN 15194) may have up to 250 W continuous rated power, with assistance cutting out by 25 km/h. Throttle rules differ by state. What the maker states for this model:
- Rated power: not stated by the source
- Assistance to: not stated by the source
- Throttle: not stated
Check my e-bike against my state’s rulesGuidance, not legal advice. Rules and official links are on the checker.
From bike shops
Shop-verified informationNot enough shop records yet. We show shop-measured figures once at least 3 records exist for this model.
From owners
Aggregated owner informationFewer than 5 Giant Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1s are registered so far, so we don’t show owner figures yet.
Issues owners have reported
No issue has been reported by 3 or more different owners yet.
Own one? Create your free Bike Passport, then you can report issues with your model.
Used prices
Not enough used ads yet — we show a range once there are 5 or more in a year.
Owning one
EbikeMate editorial guidanceReal-world range
25–37 km
Our estimate for an 80 kg rider on rolling terrain in medium assist at about 20 km/h, with a healthy battery. Hills, wind, cold, high assist and speed cut it a lot.
Work out my rangeBattery and charger
- Use the maker’s own replacement battery, or one the maker or a specialist confirms is approved for this motor system. Voltage, connector and battery-management system all have to match.
- Use the original charger, or one the maker approves for this battery. Never use a charger with a different output, even if the plug fits.
- Check the battery’s own label (Wh, V and serial) matches what the seller says.
- Damaged, swollen, hot or smelly batteries: stop using them, keep them outside away from anything that can burn, and take them to a battery drop-off — never household bins.
Servicing
- A first check after the first few hundred kilometres — new cables stretch and bolts settle.
- Chain: clean and lube regularly and measure wear — e-bikes wear chains and cassettes faster than regular bikes.
- Brakes: check pads and cable tension often — the extra weight and speed wear them faster.
- Mid-drive: ask the shop to read the motor’s error log and update firmware with the maker’s diagnostic tool at each service.
- Battery: keep it between 20% and 80% for daily use, store it at about half charge, and keep it out of hot cars.
Buying a used one
- Run the serial through the free EbikeMate buyer check — theft status, recalls and ownership on record.
- Find the frame serial yourself (usually under the bottom bracket) and check it matches the seller’s papers.
- Ask for a recent diagnostic printout — most mid-drive systems record battery health, charge cycles and motor hours.
- Look for signs of derestriction: tuning dongles, unusual wiring, or a top assisted speed above 25 km/h on the display.
- Ask for the receipt, the original charger and the key for the battery lock.
Parts known to fit the Giant Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1
Check the part number and connector against your old part before you buy — versions change between model years.
Nobody has mapped a part to this e-bike yet. If you’ve fitted one, add it below — it helps the next owner.
Sign in to confirm a fit or add a part you’ve fitted.
Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1 for sale
Parts for the Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1
All parts →Thinking of buying a Giant Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1?
Ask shops near you that sell Giant about price, stock and a test ride — one request, up to 5 shops. Free, no obligation.
Own a Giant Defy Advanced E+ Elite 1?
Give it a free Bike Passport — its serial, photos and receipt in one private record, ready if it’s ever stolen or when you sell.
Where’s the serial? On a Giant: on the seat tube near the bottom bracket, under the bottom bracket shell, or on the left rear dropout. More help finding it
Similar e-bikes
-
Bianchi
E-Oltre Ultegra Di2
Within 250 W · 25 km/h
- Road / gravel
-
Fiido
Air
Within 250 W · 25 km/h
- Road / gravel
- 209 Wh
- 13.7 kg
-
Giant
Defy Advanced E+ Elite 0
- Road / gravel
- Mid-drive · 30 Nm
- 400 Wh
-
Giant
Defy Advanced E+ Elite 2
- Road / gravel
- Mid-drive · 30 Nm
- 400 Wh
-
Giant
Defy Advanced E+ Elite AR
- Road / gravel
-
Marin
Lombard E1
Within 250 W · 25 km/h
- Road / gravel
- Mid-drive · 55 Nm
- 400 Wh