Commuter
Kona Coco HD Step-Through
E-bike specs from reidcycles.com.au (checked 2026-10-18): 250 W rated · 60 Nm · 418 Wh battery · 25 km/h assist. Price seen in that listing: A$1,499.99 — prices change, check with the seller. Listing note: 250 W/25 km/h (Reid Cycles listing) Pre-mapped from published specs, not yet checked against the bike. Source: https://www.reidcycles.com.au/products/kona-coco-hd-step-through-commuter-cruiser-ebike
- Commuter
- 418 Wh
Within Australia’s e-bike limits — listed at 250 W rated, assistance to 25 km/h. Details
Specifications
Motor
| Rated power | 250 W |
|---|---|
| Torque | 60 Nm |
Battery
| Capacity | 418 Wh |
|---|
Performance & road rules
| Assisted top speed | 25 km/h |
|---|---|
| Class | 25 km/h pedelec |
Frame & wheels
| Style | Commuter |
|---|
Manufacturer specifications Collected from Australian retailer and maker pages (linked below); not yet checked against the bike by our team. Specs change between model years and markets — confirm with the maker before you buy.
Quick answers
Is the Kona Coco HD Step-Through legal in Australia?
Its listed specs — 250 W rated power and motor assistance to 25 km/h — are within the Australian pedal-assist limits of 250 W and 25 km/h. In Queensland it also needs an EN 15194 (or Legacy EPAC) compliance label to be ridden in public from 1 March 2027 — check the frame for the sticker. Check your own bike’s labels: specs can differ between years and markets.
What is the real-world range of the Kona Coco HD Step-Through?
EbikeMate estimates about 23–35 km per charge from its 418 Wh battery, for an 80 kg rider on rolling terrain in a middle assist level at about 20 km/h. Hills, headwinds, cold weather and higher assist cut range.
How big is the Kona Coco HD Step-Through battery?
418 Wh. Use only the original or a maker-approved battery and charger.
How much does the Kona Coco HD Step-Through cost in Australia?
Its recommended retail price is listed at $1,500.
Has the Kona Coco HD Step-Through been recalled?
No recall for the Kona Coco HD Step-Through is listed in the EbikeMate Recall Centre, which tracks Product Safety Australia and maker notices. Registered owners are emailed if one is published.
Check your own e-bike against your state’s rules → · See road-legal models →
Specification sources
Manufacturer specificationsThese specifications came from a maker or retailer page but we don’t have the link on file. Check them with the maker before relying on them.
Specs change between model years and markets. Your bike’s own labels (battery Wh and V, motor rating, compliance sticker) are what count.
Recalls
Government informationNo recalls for the Kona Coco HD Step-Through in the EbikeMate Recall Centre, which we build from Product Safety Australia and maker notices. Registered owners are emailed if one is published.
Australian rules
Government informationEbikeMate editorial guidanceAcross Australia a pedal-assisted e-bike (EN 15194) may have up to 250 W continuous rated power, with assistance cutting out by 25 km/h. Throttle rules differ by state. What the maker states for this model:
- Rated power: 250 W — within the 250 W limit
- Assistance to: 25 km/h — within the 25 km/h limit
- Throttle: not stated
Check my e-bike against my state’s rulesGuidance, not legal advice. Rules and official links are on the checker.
From bike shops
Shop-verified informationNot enough shop records yet. We show shop-measured figures once at least 3 records exist for this model.
From owners
Aggregated owner informationFewer than 5 Kona Coco HD Step-Throughs are registered so far, so we don’t show owner figures yet.
Issues owners have reported
No issue has been reported by 3 or more different owners yet.
Own one? Create your free Bike Passport, then you can report issues with your model.
Used prices
Not enough used ads yet — we show a range once there are 5 or more in a year.
Owning one
EbikeMate editorial guidanceReal-world range
23–35 km
Our estimate for an 80 kg rider on rolling terrain in medium assist at about 20 km/h, with a healthy battery. Hills, wind, cold, high assist and speed cut it a lot.
Work out my rangeBattery and charger
- Use the maker’s own replacement battery, or one the maker or a specialist confirms is approved for this motor system. Voltage, connector and battery-management system all have to match.
- Use the original charger, or one the maker approves for this battery. Never use a charger with a different output, even if the plug fits.
- Check the battery’s own label (Wh, V and serial) matches what the seller says.
- Damaged, swollen, hot or smelly batteries: stop using them, keep them outside away from anything that can burn, and take them to a battery drop-off — never household bins.
Servicing
- A first check after the first few hundred kilometres — new cables stretch and bolts settle.
- Chain: clean and lube regularly and measure wear — e-bikes wear chains and cassettes faster than regular bikes.
- Brakes: check pads and cable tension often — the extra weight and speed wear them faster.
- Hub motor: check the axle nuts or thru-axle and torque arms, and that the motor cable isn’t pinched or rubbing.
- Battery: keep it between 20% and 80% for daily use, store it at about half charge, and keep it out of hot cars.
Buying a used one
- Run the serial through the free EbikeMate buyer check — theft status, recalls and ownership on record.
- Find the frame serial yourself (usually under the bottom bracket) and check it matches the seller’s papers.
- Ask how old the battery is and check it holds charge on a test ride up a hill.
- Look for signs of derestriction: tuning dongles, unusual wiring, or a top assisted speed above 25 km/h on the display.
- Ask for the receipt, the original charger and the key for the battery lock.
Parts known to fit the Kona Coco HD Step-Through
Pre-mapped from the maker’s and retailers’ published part pages. Riders and shops confirm or flag each one — “confirmed” shows only once someone has. Check the part number and connector against your old part before you buy — versions change between model years.
Batteries 1
-
Phylion 418Wh downtube battery
36V / 11.6Ah / 418Wh; semi-integrated, lockable, removable, IPX5
Model year not stated
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source reidcycles.com.au (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Displays 1
-
SR Suntour OLED Display
Model year not stated
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source reidcycles.com.au (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Motors 1
-
SR Suntour R250 HP hub drive
250W nominal, 450W peak, 60Nm, 36V
Model year not stated
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source reidcycles.com.au (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Brakes 1
-
Tektro HD-M275
HD-M275hydraulic disc, 6-bolt, 180mm rotor
Model year not stated
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source reidcycles.com.au (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Brake pads 1
-
Tektro E10.11
E10.11standard pad
Tektro disc pad compatibility chart lists E10.11 as Standard for HD-M275/M276
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source tektro.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Brake rotors 1
-
180mm
Model year not stated
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source reidcycles.com.au (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Tyres 1
-
WTB Horizon Comp
650x47mm (27.5"), wire bead
Model year not stated
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source reidcycles.com.au (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Gears and drivetrain 1
-
Shimano Altus / Tourney 8-speed
11-32T; chain KMC Z8.3
Model year not stated
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source reidcycles.com.au (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Sign in to confirm a fit or add a part you’ve fitted.
Coco HD Step-Through for sale
Parts for the Coco HD Step-Through
All parts →Thinking of buying a Kona Coco HD Step-Through?
Ask shops near you that sell Kona about price, stock and a test ride — one request, up to 5 shops. Free, no obligation.
Own a Kona Coco HD Step-Through?
Give it a free Bike Passport — its serial, photos and receipt in one private record, ready if it’s ever stolen or when you sell.
Where’s the serial? Usually under the bottom bracket, where the cranks meet the frame. More help finding it
Similar e-bikes
-
ADO
Air 28 CE
Within 250 W · 25 km/h
- Commuter
- 370 Wh
- 23 kg
-
ADO
Air 28 International
Over the road limits
- Commuter
- 370 Wh
- Up to 100 km
-
Ampd Brothers
Riptide 3
- Commuter
- 720 Wh
-
Ampd Brothers
Riptide-S 3
- Commuter
- 720 Wh
-
Avanti
Inc-E
Within 250 W · 25 km/h
- Commuter
- Mid-drive · 63 Nm
- 500 Wh
-
Avanti
Metro-E City 1
- Commuter
- Mid-drive