EbikeMate

Mountain (e-MTB)

Smartmotion Hypersonic Neo

E-bike specs from smartmotionbikes.com.au (checked 2026-10-19): 250 W rated · 75 Nm · 575 Wh battery · 25 km/h assist. Price seen in that listing: A$3,499 — prices change, check with the seller. Listing note: 250 W/25 km/h pedelec (AU brand-store listing). Optional throttle (speed not stated). 140 mm front and rear travel. Sale price (was $4,999). Page shipping text mentions the United States. Pre-mapped from published specs, not yet checked against the bike. Source: https://smartmotionbikes.com.au/collections/smartmotion-bikes/products/smartmotion-hypersonic-neo

  • Mountain (e-MTB)
  • Mid-drive · 75 Nm
  • 575 Wh

Within Australia’s e-bike limits — listed at 250 W rated, assistance to 25 km/h. Details

Specifications

Motor

MotorMotinova Volans Plus mid-drive
PositionMid-drive
Rated power250 W
Torque75 Nm

Battery

Capacity575 Wh

Performance & road rules

Assisted top speed25 km/h
Class25 km/h pedelec

Frame & wheels

StyleMountain (e-MTB)
Wheel size27.5"

Manufacturer specifications Collected from Australian retailer and maker pages (linked below); not yet checked against the bike by our team. Specs change between model years and markets — confirm with the maker before you buy.

Quick answers

Is the Smartmotion Hypersonic Neo legal in Australia?

Its listed specs — 250 W rated power and motor assistance to 25 km/h — are within the Australian pedal-assist limits of 250 W and 25 km/h. In Queensland it also needs an EN 15194 (or Legacy EPAC) compliance label to be ridden in public from 1 March 2027 — check the frame for the sticker. Check your own bike’s labels: specs can differ between years and markets.

What is the real-world range of the Smartmotion Hypersonic Neo?

EbikeMate estimates about 32–47 km per charge from its 575 Wh battery, for an 80 kg rider on rolling terrain in a middle assist level at about 20 km/h. Hills, headwinds, cold weather and higher assist cut range.

How big is the Smartmotion Hypersonic Neo battery?

575 Wh. Use only the original or a maker-approved battery and charger.

What motor does the Smartmotion Hypersonic Neo have?

A Motinova Volans Plus mid-drive mid-drive motor with 75 Nm of torque, rated at 250 W.

Has the Smartmotion Hypersonic Neo been recalled?

No recall for the Smartmotion Hypersonic Neo is listed in the EbikeMate Recall Centre, which tracks Product Safety Australia and maker notices. Registered owners are emailed if one is published.

Check your own e-bike against your state’s rules → · See road-legal models →

Specification sources

Manufacturer specifications

These specifications came from a maker or retailer page but we don’t have the link on file. Check them with the maker before relying on them.

Specs change between model years and markets. Your bike’s own labels (battery Wh and V, motor rating, compliance sticker) are what count.

Recalls

Government information

No recalls for the Smartmotion Hypersonic Neo in the EbikeMate Recall Centre, which we build from Product Safety Australia and maker notices. Registered owners are emailed if one is published.

Australian rules

Government informationEbikeMate editorial guidance

Across Australia a pedal-assisted e-bike (EN 15194) may have up to 250 W continuous rated power, with assistance cutting out by 25 km/h. Throttle rules differ by state. What the maker states for this model:

  • Rated power: 250 W — within the 250 W limit
  • Assistance to: 25 km/h — within the 25 km/h limit
  • Throttle: not stated

Check my e-bike against my state’s rulesGuidance, not legal advice. Rules and official links are on the checker.

From bike shops

Shop-verified information

Not enough shop records yet. We show shop-measured figures once at least 3 records exist for this model.

From owners

Aggregated owner information

Fewer than 5 Smartmotion Hypersonic Neos are registered so far, so we don’t show owner figures yet.

Issues owners have reported

No issue has been reported by 3 or more different owners yet.

Own one? Create your free Bike Passport, then you can report issues with your model.

Used prices

Not enough used ads yet — we show a range once there are 5 or more in a year.

Owning one

EbikeMate editorial guidance

Real-world range

32–47 km

Our estimate for an 80 kg rider on rolling terrain in medium assist at about 20 km/h, with a healthy battery. Hills, wind, cold, high assist and speed cut it a lot.

Work out my range

Battery and charger

  • Use the maker’s own replacement battery, or one the maker or a specialist confirms is approved for this motor system. Voltage, connector and battery-management system all have to match.
  • Use the original charger, or one the maker approves for this battery. Never use a charger with a different output, even if the plug fits.
  • Check the battery’s own label (Wh, V and serial) matches what the seller says.
  • Damaged, swollen, hot or smelly batteries: stop using them, keep them outside away from anything that can burn, and take them to a battery drop-off — never household bins.
Check my battery and charger

Servicing

  • A first check after the first few hundred kilometres — new cables stretch and bolts settle.
  • Chain: clean and lube regularly and measure wear — e-bikes wear chains and cassettes faster than regular bikes.
  • Brakes: check pads and cable tension often — the extra weight and speed wear them faster.
  • Mid-drive: ask the shop to read the motor’s error log and update firmware with the maker’s diagnostic tool at each service.
  • Battery: keep it between 20% and 80% for daily use, store it at about half charge, and keep it out of hot cars.

Find a shop near you.

Buying a used one

  • Run the serial through the free EbikeMate buyer check — theft status, recalls and ownership on record.
  • Find the frame serial yourself (usually under the bottom bracket) and check it matches the seller’s papers.
  • Ask for a recent diagnostic printout — most mid-drive systems record battery health, charge cycles and motor hours.
  • Look for signs of derestriction: tuning dongles, unusual wiring, or a top assisted speed above 25 km/h on the display.
  • Ask for the receipt, the original charger and the key for the battery lock.
Run a buyer check

Parts known to fit the Smartmotion Hypersonic Neo

Pre-mapped from the maker’s and retailers’ published part pages. Riders and shops confirm or flag each one — “confirmed” shows only once someone has. Check the part number and connector against your old part before you buy — versions change between model years.

Chargers 1

  • Smartmotion Hypersonic Neo 36 Volt Charger

    36V

    AU retailer (Ride Electric) lists this part for this model in the product title

    Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source rideelectric.com.au (seen 19 Oct 2026)

Displays 1

  • Smartmotion Hypersonic Neo C800S Display Screen

    AU retailer (Ride Electric) lists this part for this model in the product title

    Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source rideelectric.com.au (seen 19 Oct 2026)

Sign in to confirm a fit or add a part you’ve fitted.

Hypersonic Neo for sale

None for sale right now. Selling one? List it free →

Parts for the Hypersonic Neo

All parts →
No parts mapped to this bike yet. Save it as your bike and we’ll show parts as they’re added.

Thinking of buying a Smartmotion Hypersonic Neo?

Ask shops near you that sell Smartmotion about price, stock and a test ride — one request, up to 5 shops. Free, no obligation.

Ask shops near me

Own a Smartmotion Hypersonic Neo?

Give it a free Bike Passport — its serial, photos and receipt in one private record, ready if it’s ever stolen or when you sell.

Where’s the serial? Usually under the bottom bracket, where the cranks meet the frame. More help finding it

Register my Smartmotion Hypersonic Neo — free

Similar e-bikes

Create my free Bike Passport

Your bike

Save your bike and every part shows whether it fits. Kept on this device; no account needed.

Add your bike

Brand not listed? Pick by motor system — parts follow the motor, not the badge on the frame.

Where are you?

Your postcode decides what you can see. Batteries are pickup only, so they only show to buyers near the seller, and some items are not shown in every state.