Cargo
Tern GSD R14 Gen 3
E-bike specs from omafiets.com.au (checked 2026-10-19): 85 Nm · 800 Wh battery. Price seen in that listing: A$14,495 — prices change, check with the seller. Listing note: Pedelec (Omafiets AU); rated power and assist cut-off not shown – confirm EN 15194 label; page writes battery as '800W PowerPack' (taken as Wh), dual-battery compatible; max GVW given as both 200 and 210 kg Pre-mapped from published specs, not yet checked against the bike. Source: https://omafiets.com.au/products/tern-gsd-r14-gen3
- Cargo
- Mid-drive · 85 Nm
- 800 Wh
Specs don’t settle it — the maker doesn’t publish both rated power and assist speed. Check the label on the bike or run the legal check.
Specifications
Motor
| Motor | Bosch Cargo Line |
|---|---|
| Position | Mid-drive |
| Torque | 85 Nm |
Battery
| Capacity | 800 Wh |
|---|
Performance & road rules
| Class | Check: power not confirmed |
|---|
Frame & wheels
| Style | Cargo |
|---|
Manufacturer specifications Collected from Australian retailer and maker pages (linked below); not yet checked against the bike by our team. Specs change between model years and markets — confirm with the maker before you buy.
Quick answers
Is the Tern GSD R14 Gen 3 legal in Australia?
The specs we have don’t state its rated power or assist speed, so check the bike itself: a legal pedal-assist e-bike has at most 250 W rated power (shown on the motor or frame label) and stops assisting at 25 km/h. In Queensland it also needs an EN 15194 (or Legacy EPAC) compliance label to be ridden in public from 1 March 2027 — check the frame for the sticker.
What is the real-world range of the Tern GSD R14 Gen 3?
EbikeMate estimates about 49–74 km per charge from its 800 Wh battery, for an 80 kg rider on rolling terrain in a middle assist level at about 20 km/h. Hills, headwinds, cold weather and higher assist cut range.
How big is the Tern GSD R14 Gen 3 battery?
800 Wh. Use only the original or a maker-approved battery and charger.
What motor does the Tern GSD R14 Gen 3 have?
A Bosch Cargo Line mid-drive motor with 85 Nm of torque.
How much does the Tern GSD R14 Gen 3 cost in Australia?
Its recommended retail price is listed at $14,495.
Has the Tern GSD R14 Gen 3 been recalled?
No recall for the Tern GSD R14 Gen 3 is listed in the EbikeMate Recall Centre, which tracks Product Safety Australia and maker notices. Registered owners are emailed if one is published.
Check your own e-bike against your state’s rules → · See road-legal models →
Specification sources
Manufacturer specificationsThese specifications came from a maker or retailer page but we don’t have the link on file. Check them with the maker before relying on them.
Specs change between model years and markets. Your bike’s own labels (battery Wh and V, motor rating, compliance sticker) are what count.
Recalls
Government informationNo recalls for the Tern GSD R14 Gen 3 in the EbikeMate Recall Centre, which we build from Product Safety Australia and maker notices. Registered owners are emailed if one is published.
Australian rules
Government informationEbikeMate editorial guidanceAcross Australia a pedal-assisted e-bike (EN 15194) may have up to 250 W continuous rated power, with assistance cutting out by 25 km/h. Throttle rules differ by state. What the maker states for this model:
- Rated power: not stated by the source
- Assistance to: not stated by the source
- Throttle: not stated
Check my e-bike against my state’s rulesGuidance, not legal advice. Rules and official links are on the checker.
From bike shops
Shop-verified informationNot enough shop records yet. We show shop-measured figures once at least 3 records exist for this model.
From owners
Aggregated owner informationFewer than 5 Tern GSD R14 Gen 3s are registered so far, so we don’t show owner figures yet.
Issues owners have reported
No issue has been reported by 3 or more different owners yet.
Own one? Create your free Bike Passport, then you can report issues with your model.
Used prices
Not enough used ads yet — we show a range once there are 5 or more in a year.
Owning one
EbikeMate editorial guidanceReal-world range
49–74 km
Our estimate for an 80 kg rider on rolling terrain in medium assist at about 20 km/h, with a healthy battery. Hills, wind, cold, high assist and speed cut it a lot.
Work out my rangeBattery and charger
- Use the maker’s own replacement battery, or one the maker or a specialist confirms is approved for this motor system. Voltage, connector and battery-management system all have to match.
- Use the original charger, or one the maker approves for this battery. Never use a charger with a different output, even if the plug fits.
- Check the battery’s own label (Wh, V and serial) matches what the seller says.
- Damaged, swollen, hot or smelly batteries: stop using them, keep them outside away from anything that can burn, and take them to a battery drop-off — never household bins.
Servicing
- A first check after the first few hundred kilometres — new cables stretch and bolts settle.
- Chain: clean and lube regularly and measure wear — e-bikes wear chains and cassettes faster than regular bikes.
- Brakes: check pads and cable tension often — the extra weight and speed wear them faster.
- Mid-drive: ask the shop to read the motor’s error log and update firmware with the maker’s diagnostic tool at each service.
- Battery: keep it between 20% and 80% for daily use, store it at about half charge, and keep it out of hot cars.
Buying a used one
- Run the serial through the free EbikeMate buyer check — theft status, recalls and ownership on record.
- Find the frame serial yourself (usually under the bottom bracket) and check it matches the seller’s papers.
- Ask for a recent diagnostic printout — most mid-drive systems record battery health, charge cycles and motor hours.
- Look for signs of derestriction: tuning dongles, unusual wiring, or a top assisted speed above 25 km/h on the display.
- Ask for the receipt, the original charger and the key for the battery lock.
Parts known to fit the Tern GSD R14 Gen 3
Pre-mapped from the maker’s and retailers’ published part pages. Riders and shops confirm or flag each one — “confirmed” shows only once someone has. Check the part number and connector against your old part before you buy — versions change between model years.
Batteries 1
-
Bosch 800 PowerPack, Fast Swap, Dual Battery bays, optional 2 x 800 Wh max capacity
800 Wh (optional second 800 Wh)
Omafiets page writes it as "Bosch 1x800W PowerPack Frame"
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Chargers 1
-
Charger 4 A
Tern lists EU and US versions; AU version not separately stated
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Displays 1
-
Bosch Kiox 300 w/ LED remote
display + remote
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Motors 1
-
Bosch Cargo Line, 400% Assist, 85 Nm Torque, max speed 25 kph (EU)
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Brakes 1
-
Magura MT-C ABS, 4-piston hydraulic disc
front and rear
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Brake rotors 1
-
203 mm rotor
front and rear; 203 mm
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Tyres 1
-
Schwalbe Pick-Up, cargo-optimized, Super Defense puncture protection, Reflex
front and rear (size not stated on spec list)
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Wheels 1
-
Tern Atlas, heavy duty cargo wheel; rims ultra wide 36 mm
front and rear
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Gears and drivetrain 3
-
Gates Carbon Drive CDX belt
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
-
Gates CDX, precision CNC machined cog
rear cog
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
-
Rohloff E14, 526% range, Boost
rear hub / e-shift 14 spd
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Suspension 1
-
Suntour custom for Tern, 1.5" tapered Chromoly steerer, 34 mm stanchions, Thru-axle
fork
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Lights 2
-
Tern Ignis Headlight, Hi/Lo beams, 700 lumens
front; 700 lm
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
-
Tern RearStop Brake Light, Always on
rear
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Mudguards 1
-
Tern F: Aluminum R: GSD wheel guard
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Other parts 1
-
Bosch Anti-Lock Braking System, Gen 2
ABS
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source ternbicycles.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Sign in to confirm a fit or add a part you’ve fitted.
GSD R14 Gen 3 for sale
Parts for the GSD R14 Gen 3
All parts →Thinking of buying a Tern GSD R14 Gen 3?
Ask shops near you that sell Tern about price, stock and a test ride — one request, up to 5 shops. Free, no obligation.
Own a Tern GSD R14 Gen 3?
Give it a free Bike Passport — its serial, photos and receipt in one private record, ready if it’s ever stolen or when you sell.
Where’s the serial? On a Tern: engraved, 10–13 characters — under the seat tube on GSD, HSD, NBD, Orox, Quick Haul, Short Haul and Vektron; on the bottom bracket on BYB, Link, Node, Verge, Eclipse and Joe. Not the “T” Service Tag. More help finding it
Similar e-bikes
-
Aventon
Abound LR
Within 250 W · 25 km/h
- Cargo
- Rear hub · 80 Nm
- 733 Wh
-
Aventon
Abound SR
- Cargo
- Rear hub · 80 Nm
- 733 Wh
-
Benno
46er
Within 250 W · 25 km/h
- Cargo
- Mid-drive
- 500 Wh
-
Benno
Boost EVO5
Within 250 W · 25 km/h
- Cargo
- Mid-drive
- 500 Wh
-
Benno
RemiDemi EVO2
Within 250 W · 25 km/h
- Cargo
- Mid-drive
- 500 Wh
-
Cube
Cargo Hybrid 800
- Cargo
- Mid-drive
- 800 Wh