Mountain (e-MTB)
Trek Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5
E-bike specs from trekbikes.com (checked 2026-10-18): 85 Nm · 800 Wh battery. Price seen in that listing: A$9,499.99 — prices change, check with the seller. Listing note: AU brand-site e-bike (Trek AU); specs from Flow Mountain Bike (AU) review flowmountainbike.com/tests/2025-trek-rail-plus-9-8-review Pre-mapped from published specs, not yet checked against the bike. Source: https://www.trekbikes.com/au/en_AU/bikes/electric-bikes/c/B507/
- Mountain (e-MTB)
- Mid-drive · 85 Nm
- 800 Wh
Specs don’t settle it — the maker doesn’t publish both rated power and assist speed. Check the label on the bike or run the legal check.
Specifications
Motor
| Motor | Bosch Performance Line CX (Gen 5) |
|---|---|
| Drive system | Bosch Smart System |
| Position | Mid-drive |
| Torque | 85 Nm |
Battery
| Capacity | 800 Wh |
|---|
Performance & road rules
| Class | Check: power not confirmed |
|---|
Frame & wheels
| Style | Mountain (e-MTB) |
|---|
Manufacturer specifications Collected from Australian retailer and maker pages (linked below); not yet checked against the bike by our team. Specs change between model years and markets — confirm with the maker before you buy.
Quick answers
Is the Trek Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5 legal in Australia?
The specs we have don’t state its rated power or assist speed, so check the bike itself: a legal pedal-assist e-bike has at most 250 W rated power (shown on the motor or frame label) and stops assisting at 25 km/h. In Queensland it also needs an EN 15194 (or Legacy EPAC) compliance label to be ridden in public from 1 March 2027 — check the frame for the sticker.
What is the real-world range of the Trek Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5?
EbikeMate estimates about 44–66 km per charge from its 800 Wh battery, for an 80 kg rider on rolling terrain in a middle assist level at about 20 km/h. Hills, headwinds, cold weather and higher assist cut range.
How big is the Trek Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5 battery?
800 Wh. Use only the original or a maker-approved battery and charger.
What motor does the Trek Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5 have?
A Bosch Performance Line CX (Gen 5) mid-drive motor with 85 Nm of torque.
How much does the Trek Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5 cost in Australia?
Its recommended retail price is listed at $9,500.
Has the Trek Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5 been recalled?
No recall for the Trek Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5 is listed in the EbikeMate Recall Centre, which tracks Product Safety Australia and maker notices. Registered owners are emailed if one is published.
Check your own e-bike against your state’s rules → · See road-legal models →
Specification sources
Manufacturer specificationsThese specifications came from a maker or retailer page but we don’t have the link on file. Check them with the maker before relying on them.
Specs change between model years and markets. Your bike’s own labels (battery Wh and V, motor rating, compliance sticker) are what count.
Recalls
Government informationNo recalls for the Trek Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5 in the EbikeMate Recall Centre, which we build from Product Safety Australia and maker notices. Registered owners are emailed if one is published.
Australian rules
Government informationEbikeMate editorial guidanceAcross Australia a pedal-assisted e-bike (EN 15194) may have up to 250 W continuous rated power, with assistance cutting out by 25 km/h. Throttle rules differ by state. What the maker states for this model:
- Rated power: not stated by the source
- Assistance to: not stated by the source
- Throttle: not stated
Check my e-bike against my state’s rulesGuidance, not legal advice. Rules and official links are on the checker.
From bike shops
Shop-verified informationNot enough shop records yet. We show shop-measured figures once at least 3 records exist for this model.
From owners
Aggregated owner informationFewer than 5 Trek Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5s are registered so far, so we don’t show owner figures yet.
Issues owners have reported
No issue has been reported by 3 or more different owners yet.
Own one? Create your free Bike Passport, then you can report issues with your model.
Used prices
Not enough used ads yet — we show a range once there are 5 or more in a year.
Owning one
EbikeMate editorial guidanceReal-world range
44–66 km
Our estimate for an 80 kg rider on rolling terrain in medium assist at about 20 km/h, with a healthy battery. Hills, wind, cold, high assist and speed cut it a lot.
Work out my rangeBattery and charger
- Use the maker’s own replacement battery, or one the maker or a specialist confirms is approved for this motor system. Voltage, connector and battery-management system all have to match.
- Use the original charger, or one the maker approves for this battery. Never use a charger with a different output, even if the plug fits.
- Check the battery’s own label (Wh, V and serial) matches what the seller says.
- Damaged, swollen, hot or smelly batteries: stop using them, keep them outside away from anything that can burn, and take them to a battery drop-off — never household bins.
Servicing
- A first check after the first few hundred kilometres — new cables stretch and bolts settle.
- Chain: clean and lube regularly and measure wear — e-bikes wear chains and cassettes faster than regular bikes.
- Brakes: check pads and cable tension often — the extra weight and speed wear them faster.
- Mid-drive: ask the shop to read the motor’s error log and update firmware with the maker’s diagnostic tool at each service.
- Battery: keep it between 20% and 80% for daily use, store it at about half charge, and keep it out of hot cars.
Buying a used one
- Run the serial through the free EbikeMate buyer check — theft status, recalls and ownership on record.
- Find the frame serial yourself (usually under the bottom bracket) and check it matches the seller’s papers.
- Ask for a recent diagnostic printout — most mid-drive systems record battery health, charge cycles and motor hours.
- Look for signs of derestriction: tuning dongles, unusual wiring, or a top assisted speed above 25 km/h on the display.
- Ask for the receipt, the original charger and the key for the battery lock.
Parts known to fit the Trek Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5
Pre-mapped from the maker’s and retailers’ published part pages. Riders and shops confirm or flag each one — “confirmed” shows only once someone has. Check the part number and connector against your old part before you buy — versions change between model years.
Chargers 2
-
Bosch 2A Charger
2A max
For Bosch Smart System e-bikes — this bike’s drive system. Check your battery mount or frame matches.
Maker (Bosch AU) lists under 'Battery chargers for the smart system'
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source bosch-ebike.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
-
Bosch 4A Charger
4A max
For Bosch Smart System e-bikes — this bike’s drive system. Check your battery mount or frame matches.
Maker (Bosch AU) lists under 'Battery chargers for the smart system'
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source bosch-ebike.com (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Displays 1
-
Bosch Kiox 400C
BRC3200colour display
For Bosch Smart System e-bikes — this bike’s drive system. Check your battery mount or frame matches.
AU retailer (99 Bikes) says it integrates with the Bosch Smart System
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source 99bikes.com.au (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Remotes 1
-
Bosch Mini Remote 22.2mm
BRC330022.2mm clamp, Bluetooth
For Bosch Smart System e-bikes — this bike’s drive system. Check your battery mount or frame matches.
AU retailer (99 Bikes) says designed for Bosch Smart System eBikes
Pre-mapped, not yet checked · source 99bikes.com.au (seen 19 Oct 2026)
Sign in to confirm a fit or add a part you’ve fitted.
Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5 for sale
Parts for the Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5
All parts →Thinking of buying a Trek Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5?
Ask shops near you that sell Trek about price, stock and a test ride — one request, up to 5 shops. Free, no obligation.
Own a Trek Rail+ 9.8 Gen 5?
Give it a free Bike Passport — its serial, photos and receipt in one private record, ready if it’s ever stolen or when you sell.
Where’s the serial? On a Trek: tip the bike over — it’s on a silver or grey sticker underneath. Trek serials usually start with W. More help finding it
Similar e-bikes
-
Ampd Brothers
ACE-X Demon Series 4
Within 250 W · 25 km/h
- Mountain (e-MTB)
- Up to 100 km
-
Ampd Brothers
ACE-X Pro Series 4
Within 250 W · 25 km/h
- Mountain (e-MTB)
- Rear hub · 95 Nm
- Up to 100 km
-
Avanti
Competitor-E1
- Mountain (e-MTB)
-
Avanti
Competitor-E2
Within 250 W · 25 km/h
- Mountain (e-MTB)
- Mid-drive · 85 Nm
- 750 Wh
-
Avanti
Hammer-E LT1
- Mountain (e-MTB)
- Mid-drive
-
Avanti
Hammer-E LT2
Within 250 W · 25 km/h
- Mountain (e-MTB)
- Mid-drive · 85 Nm
- 625 Wh